Welcome to the Chair of Information Systems, Social Computing

Prof Dr Matthias Trier

In research and teaching, we deal comprehensively with innovative technologies and digital social behaviour in the context of social media and digital cooperation. This includes the analysis of digital customer behaviour on social media platforms such as Twitter, Instagram or Reddit, the evolution of employee networking over time, e.g. with event-based dynamic network analysis, barriers and opportunities for the exchange of expertise in companies or new digital interaction possibilities in social VR. Join us on this journey and feel free to contact us

Yours, Prof Dr Matthias Trier

Prof. Trier investigates phenomena of electronic communication and social influence effects in online media within and outside the organisation using a mixed methods approach that combines quantitative, qualitative and network analytical methods. Example topics include the implementation/application of social media, online participation, the design of electronic discourses (e.g. from a management perspective), information transfer, dissemination processes or bottom-up community development in the context of knowledge management initiatives. A particular methodological focus is the development of an event-driven method for dynamic network analysis (see corresponding softwarewww.commetrix.net). It enables research into new structures and dynamic processes of human networking.

news

26.03.2024

Ment­oren­pro­gramm Mas­ter Winfo und MIS

Read more
20.02.2024

Mod­u­lange­bot im Forschungssemester Prof. Dr. Mat­thi­as Tri­er SoSe 2024

Read more
30.01.2024

An­mel­dung zum teil­nehmer­be­gren­zten Modul M.184.3311 Meth­oden des So­cial Me­dia Man­age­ments

Read more
30.01.2024

An­mel­dung zum teil­nehmer­be­gren­zten Modul M.184.4327 Vir­tu­al Real­ity Ex­per­i­ments - In­terak­tion in der vir­tuel­len Or­gan­isa­tion

Read more
10.11.2023

Stelle als wis­senschaft­liche*r Mit­arbeit­er­*in im The­men­feld So­cial Me­dia Forschung & So­cial Com­put­ing am Lehr­stuhl…

Read more
More news

Our research

ENTERPRISE SOCIAL MEDIA (ESM)
Conception and introduction of enterprise social media and innovative social computing applications in the company.

SOCIAL BUSINESS MODELS
(SBM)User/consumer behaviour and digital sociality in social business and innovative digital business models.

SOCIAL MEDIA ANALYTICS
(SMA)Metrics, visualisation and analysis of dynamic collective processes for management support in the SMM and ESM context (SMA dashboards, management approaches) (LAB-based)INNOVATIVE.

SOCIAL COMPUTING
(ISC) Innovative social computing applications and their impact (LAB-based)STRATEGIC INFORMATION MANAGEMENT (SIM)Strategic information management in the innovation, collaboration and knowledge management context (Information Practices).

Our teaching

The use of social media & social computing is an important topic and plays a prominent and growing role in digitalised companies in terms of customer interaction or our own work processes! Now, for the first time, this field of research is also represented with a comprehensive range of courses on the Bachelor's degree programme in Business Informatics. This gives you a head start compared to many other universities and allows you to deal with the subject systematically, practically and in depth during your studies. In addition, there are many opportunities to gain important advantages for starting a career with us as a student and academic MA.

Bach­el­or pro­gramme

Our Bachelor's programme

Mas­ter's pro­gramme

Our Master's programme

Tips for fi­nal theses

Our tips and advice on writing your thesis at our department

Ment­or­ing pro­gramme for Mas­ter's stu­dents of Busi­ness In­form­at­ics and Man­age­ment In­form­a­tion Sys­tems

Dear students on the Master's programme,

Welcome to the Master's degree programme in Management Information Systems and Information Systems. Prof. Dr. Matthias Trier is Professor of Information Systems, in particular Social Computing, and is responsible for and coordinator of the mentoring programme of the degree course. Every student on this degree programme is assigned a professor of Information Systems as a personal mentor to support them in designing their course content. We wish you every success on your Master's programme.

Wirtschaftsinformatik, insb. Social Computing

Building Q
Paderborn University
Warburger Str. 100
33098 Paderborn
+ 49 5251 603256 Directions

Herzlich Willkommen am Lehrstuhl für Wirtschaftsinformatik, insb. Social Computing

Prof. Dr. Matthias Trier

Wir befassen uns in Forschung & Lehre umfassend mit innovativen Technologien und digitalen sozialen Verhaltensweisen im Kontext von Social Media und digitaler Kooperation. Das umfasst die Analyse von digitalem Kundenverhalten auf Social Media Plattformen wie Twitter, Instagram oder Reddit, die Evolution von Mitarbeitervernetzung im Zeitablauf z.B. mit ereignisbasierter dynamischer Netzwerkanalyse, Barrieren und Möglichkeiten des Expertiseaustauschs in Unternehmen oder neue digitaler Interaktionsmöglichkeiten in Social VR. Begleiten Sie uns hierbei und sprechen Sie uns gern an 

Ihr Prof. Dr. Matthias Trier

Prof. Trier untersucht Phänomene der elektronischen Kommunikation und soziale Einflusseffekte in Online-Medien innerhalb und außerhalb der Organisation mit einem gemischten Methodenansatz, der quantitative, qualitative und netzwerkanalytische Methoden kombiniert. Beispielthemen sind die Implementierung/Anwendung von Social Media, Online-Beteiligung, die Gestaltung elektronischer Diskurse (z.B. aus Management-Sicht), Informationstransfer, Verbreitungsprozesse oder Bottom-up-Community-Entstehung im Rahmen von Wissensmanagementinitiativen. Ein besonderer methodischer Schwerpunkt ist die Entwicklung einer ereignisgesteuerten Methode zur dynamischen Netzwerkanalyse (siehe entsprechende Software www.commetrix.net). Sie ermöglicht die Erforschung neuer Strukturen und dynamischer Prozesse der Vernetzung von Menschen.

Aktuelles

10.07.2024

Stu­den­ti­sche Hilfs­kraft (SHK) oder Wis­sen­schaft­li­che Hilfs­kraft mit Ba­che­lo­rab­schluss (WHB) (w/m/d) ge­sucht. (Prof. Dr. Matt­hi­as…

Mehr erfahren
26.03.2024

Men­to­ren­pro­gramm Mas­ter Win­fo und MIS

Mehr erfahren
20.02.2024

Mo­du­lan­ge­bot im For­schungs­se­mes­ter Prof. Dr. Matt­hi­as Trier So­Se 2024

Mehr erfahren
30.01.2024

An­mel­dung zum teil­neh­mer­be­grenz­ten Mo­dul M.184.3311 Me­tho­den des So­ci­al Me­dia Ma­nage­ments

Mehr erfahren
30.01.2024

An­mel­dung zum teil­neh­mer­be­grenz­ten Mo­dul M.184.4327 Vir­tu­al Re­a­li­ty Ex­pe­ri­ments - In­ter­ak­ti­on in der vir­tu­el­len…

Mehr erfahren
Weitere Neuigkeiten

Unsere Forschung

ENTERPRISE SOCIAL MEDIA (ESM)
Konzeption und Einführung von Enterprise Social Media und innovativen Social Computing Anwendungen im Unternehmen.

SOCIAL BUSINESS MODELS
(SBM)Nutzer-/Konsumentenverhalten und digitale Sozialität in Social Business und innovativen digitalen Geschäftsmodellen.

SOCIAL MEDIA ANALYTICS
(SMA)Metriken, Visualisierung und Analyse dynamischer kollektiver Prozesse zur Managementunterstützung im SMM und ESM Kontext (SMA Dashboards, Managementansätze) (LAB-basiert)INNOVATIVE.

SOCIAL COMPUTING
(ISC) Innovative Social Computing Anwendungen und ihre Auswirkungen (LAB-basiert)STRATEGIC INFORMATION MANAGEMENT (SIM)Strategisches Informationsmanagement im Innovations-, Kollaborations- und Knowledge Management Kontext (Information Practices).

Unsere Lehre

Die Nutzung von Social Media & Social Computing ist ein wichtiges Thema und spielt im digitalisierten Unternehmen eine herausragende und wachsende Rolle bei der Kundeninteraktion oder eigenen Arbeitsprozessen! Nun ist dieses Forschungsfeld auch erstmals mit einem umfassenden Lehrangebot im Bachelorstudiengang Wirtschaftsinformatik vertreten. Damit können Sie sich im Vergleich zu vielen anderen Universitäten einen Vorsprung verschaffen und sich innerhalb Ihres Studiums mit dem Thema systematisch, praxisnah und tiefgreifend auseinandersetzen. Darüber hinaus gibt es viele Möglichkeiten, bei uns als studentischer und wissenschaftlicher MA wichtige Vorteile für den Unternehmenseinstieg zu holen.

Lehr­an­ge­bot Ba­che­lor

Unser Lehrangebot im Bachelor

Lehr­an­ge­bot Mas­ter

Unser Lehrangebot im Master

Tipps für Ab­schluss­a­r­bei­ten

Unsere Tipps und Hinweise zur Anfertigung von Abschlussarbeiten an unserem Lehrstuhl

Men­to­ren­pro­gramm Mas­ter­stu­die­ren­de Wirt­schafts­in­for­ma­tik und Ma­nage­ment In­for­ma­ti­on Sys­tems

Liebe Studierende im Masterstudiengang,

herzlich willkommen im Masterstudiengang Management Information Systems und Wirtschaftsinformatik. Prof. Dr. Matthias Trier ist Professor der Wirtschaftsinformatik, insb. Social Computing sowie Verantwortlicher und Koordinator für das Mentoring-Programm des Studiengangs. Zur Unterstützung bei der Gestaltung Ihrer Studieninhalte bekommt jede/r Studierende in diesem Studiengang einen Professor der Wirtschaftsinformatik als persönlichen Mentor zur Seite gestellt. Wir wünschen Ihnen für Ihr Masterstudium viel Erfolg.

Wirtschaftsinformatik, insb. Social Computing

Gebäude Q
Universität Paderborn
Warburger Str. 100
33098 Paderborn
+ 49 5251 603256 Wegbeschreibung