Welcome to the Chair of Managerial Economics!

On this homepage you will find all the information about our team, our research areas and the courses we offer. In addition, we also offer information on applications for and writing theses.

News

19.02.2024

Save the Date: Finding-Week 11.03. - 15.03.2024

Read more
11.12.2023 - 11.12.2023

SEAM: David Kusterer "Social Preferences and the Informativeness of Subjective Performance Evaluations"

Read more
27.11.2023 - 27.11.2023

SEAM: Max Thon, University of Cologne "How can organisations increase diversity? Field-experimental evidence on emphasising job flexibility and pay in…

Read more
More news

Our teaching

We can benefit from each other by entering into dialogue. To do this effectively, we regularly integrate interactive elements into our teaching. Together with the students, we ask questions and actively search for answers. It is always important to us what consequences our answers have for the world.

We place particular emphasis on three aspects in our teaching: Applying economic models to real-world problems, interacting with students during lectures, and promoting and stimulating research.

Teaching programme

 

Bachelor

Module name Semester ECTS Language Contact person
M.184.1103 - Introduction to Economics WS 5 DEU EiWiWi Coaches: eiwiwi@mail.uni-paderborn.de
M.184.2176 - Finding and Developing your Research Project WS/SS 5 DEU/ ENG Eva Klein: finding@mail.uni-paderborn.de
M.184.2171 - Managerial Economics SS 10 DEU Wendelin Schnedler

 

Master

Module name Semester ECTS Language Contact person
M.184.4176 - Finding and Developing your Research Project WS/SS 5 DEU/ ENG Eva Klein: finding@mail.uni-paderborn.de
M.184.5158 - Behavioural Economics for Managerial Decision Making: Theory and Application WS 5 ENG Dilan Okcuoglu Celik
M.184.5170 - The theory and practice of entrepreneurship WS if applicable 5 ENG Wendelin Schnedler
M.184.2178 - Behavioural economics in your everyday life SS 5 DEU Julia Kramer
M.184.5157 - Marketing & Management Challenge WS 5 DEU Wendelin Schnedler & Julia Kramer
M.184.4173 Economics of Strategy SS 10 ENG Dilan Okcuoglu Celik

 

Final theses with us

We take part in the centralised allocation procedure for theses. The procedure distributes the students who wish to write a thesis fairly among the professorships. All information on the centralised allocation procedure.

 

What makes us special is that, unlike many other professorships, we do not specify any fixed topics. With us, students have the opportunity to write their theses in many different fields on the topic of "human behaviour".

 

Procedure

 

We place particular emphasis on practical research and provide students with targeted support as part of our compulsory module "Finding and Developing your Research Project". The module is designed to support students in developing their own research project at the beginning of the processing phase of their thesis. The resulting project then forms the core content of the thesis. We thus actively support the process of developing research projects and assist our students throughout the planning and realisation phase. The thesis can be written in German or English.

Our 'Finding' course is open to all students, including those who are not writing their thesis with us. However, due to limited capacity, students who are writing their thesis with us will be given priority in the allocation of course places. If you are interested, please contact us at finding@mail.uni-paderborn.de.

 

Our aim is to prepare students for the challenges of research in the best possible way and to strengthen their skills in independent scientific work. Join us in discovering the many opportunities to organise your own research project. We look forward to fostering your interest in research.

Examples of previous theses

How effective is empathic communication?
An experimental analysis regarding the effect of empathic communication on the willingness to wear a mask

 

During the COVID-19 pandemic, the wearing of face masks was mandatory on public transport, in supermarkets and in public places. Despite this, some people did not wear a mask, putting themselves and others at risk. In her bachelor's thesis, Antonia investigated the effectiveness of encouraging people to wear face masks in public spaces. She investigated whether expressing empathy and personal dislike of masks influences compliance. Antonia conducted her study in buses and train stations and randomly approached people with and without an empathetic approach. She then observed and documented the participants' reactions. The results showed that empathic communication did not increase the willingness to wear a face mask.

 

 

The Impact of Ice Breaking Games on Trust and Reciprocity:
A Lab in the Field Experiment

 

In environments with frequent staff turnover, such as schools or dynamic workplaces, building mutual trust is crucial for group engagement and productivity. The key question here is how this essential trust can be developed more quickly, especially when teams suffer from constant turnover of members. Jennifer addressed this issue in her master's thesis and investigated the effectiveness of ice breaker games as a tool to accelerate the development of trust and reciprocity. The study was conducted with students in their first semester at Paderborn University and the results show that the Ice Breaker game did not have a significant impact on trust and mutual cooperation. However, significantly more people actively participated when the game was not played.

A field experiment on sustainable consumption in tourism
Can nudging influence hotel guests to reuse their towel more often?

 

Water scarcity due to tourism is a major problem, especially on islands. Laura carried out a field experiment in a hotel in Mauritius as part of her master's thesis. She investigated the effectiveness of signs in hotel rooms to encourage guests to reuse towels and save water. The signs emphasised the harmful effects of excessive water wastage and the resulting water shortages for people in Africa. The result: up to two fewer towels per room and stay need to be washed when guests are reminded that their choices can prevent water shortages.

Can flyers help people reduce their recyclable waste?

 

Single-use plastic is a major burden on the environment and climate protection. Marie and Laura conducted a field experiment in their bachelor's thesis to investigate how waste in the yellow bins can be reduced in people's everyday lives. The result: the households with the flyers on waste separation reduced their plastic waste by an average of 350 grams. The yellow bins of the households with the information about their neighbours' waste consumption weighed 1340 grams less.

Do you look away now, even if you face the consequences on others, later?
An online (lab) experiment

 

A potentially harmful decision can easily be excused by a lack of knowledge about the consequences of that decision. In his bachelor's thesis, Laurenz investigated whether individuals show less ignorant and more pro-social behaviour when they know in advance that they will definitely experience the consequences of their decisions afterwards. It turned out that this is not the case.

Can greenwashing mislead consumers in their purchasing decision?
An experimental study

 

Greenwashing refers to the misleading practice of marketing a conventional product as environmentally friendly. This prompted Kathrin to investigate the effectiveness of ingredient transparency in detecting such practices in her bachelor's thesis. She investigated consumers' decisions between a greenwashed hand cream advertised as "organic" and a conventional one, based on access to information about the ingredients. In a field experiment, 100 participants were divided into two groups - one was exposed to the greenwashing practice, while the other was given transparent lists of ingredients. The results indicated that the latter group, who were informed about the ingredients, were less likely to choose the product advertised as 'greenwashed'.

"I would like to use this email to thank you - for an outstanding course and ideas that are still useful to me today. Just recently I had to think about some of the content of the course again and I'm delighted to have taken so much away with me."

S. K. , participant in the "Managerial Economics" module

 

Our research

The broken chain

People are not as bad at dealing with their frustrations as previously thought. You can find out more about this topic in the scientific article by Prof Wendelin Schnedler.

Don't Patronise me! Rejecting a good solution just because it comes from someone else.

The slogan "Take back Control" is said to have inspired many Britons to vote in favour of leaving the EU in the 2016 referendum, even though they are likely to suffer economically as a result. Silvia Lübbeck and Prof Wendelin Schnedler have written an academic paper on this topic.

Against All Odds: Tentative Steps Toward Efficient Information Sharing in Groups

When groups face difficult problems, the voice of the experts may be drowned out by the noise of others' contributions. In this setting, we investigate the change in behaviour before and after people can talk to their neighbours. Darius Schlangenotto, Wendelin Schneller and Vadovic Radovan have been working on this topic.

 

Seminar of Economics and Management (SEAM)

Unsere Professur nimmt am Seminar of Economics and Management teil, um einen Wissensaustausch zu fördern.

 

 

Our team

Prof. Dr. Wendelin Schnedler

Managerial Economics

More about the person

Dr. Dilan Okcuoglu Celik

Managerial Economics

More about the person

Julia Kramer

Managerial Economics

More about the person

Eva Klein

Managerial Economics

More about the person

Lena Hortsch

Managerial Economics

More about the person

Silena Heimann

Managerial Economics

More about the person

Simon Leon Müller

Managerial Economics

More about the person

Tobias Niederprüm

Managerial Economics

More about the person

"Working at the chair has had a lasting positive impact on my definition of colleagues and teamwork. There is always an open ear, understanding, support and respect. The numerous social events, from joint lunches to team days, promote friendly interaction and thus the special cohesion of the chair team. I look back on this time with fondness!"

- Pia Pöhlker, former research assistant in the administrative field

Kontakt

Managerial Economics

Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften - Department 1: Management

Paderborn University
Warburger Str. 100
33098 Paderborn
Send E-Mail Directions

Alumni

Dr. Xinyu Li

Dr. Silvia Onuchukwu (geb. Lübbecke)

Dr. Nina Stephan

Dr. Fabian Bopp

Herzlich Willkommen an der Professur für Managerial Economics!

Auf dieser Homepage finden Sie alle Informationen über unser Team, unsere Forschungsbereiche und die angebotenen Lehrveranstaltungen. Zusätzlich bieten wir auch Informationen zur Bewerbung für und das Schreiben von Abschlussarbeiten. 

Aktuelles

04.06.2024

SE­AM: Ste­fan Na­pel "Vo­ting Ru­les and Vo­ting Suc­cess in Weigh­ted Com­mit­tees and Share­hol­der Mee­tings"

Mehr erfahren
19.02.2024

Sa­ve the Date: Fin­ding-Week 23.09. - 27.09.2024

Mehr erfahren
11.12.2023 - 11.12.2023

SE­AM: Da­vid Kus­te­rer "So­ci­al Pre­fe­rences and the In­for­ma­tiven­ess of Sub­jec­ti­ve Per­for­mance Eva­lua­ti­ons"

Mehr erfahren
Weitere Neuigkeiten

Unsere Lehre

Wir können voneinander profitieren, indem wir in den Dialog treten. Um dies effektiv umzusetzen, integrieren wir regelmäßig interaktive Elemente in unsere Lehre. Gemeinsam mit den Studierenden stellen wir Fragen und suchen aktiv nach Antworten. Dabei ist uns immer wichtig, welche Konsequenzen unsere Antworten für die Welt haben.

In der Lehre legen wir dabei besonderen Wert auf drei Aspekte: Anwendung ökonomischer Modelle auf Probleme aus der Praxis, Interaktion mit Studierenden während Lehrveranstaltungen, Förderung und Anregung der Forschung.

Lehr­an­ge­bot

 

Bachelor

Modulname Semester ECTS Sprache Ansprechpartner*in
M.184.1103 - Einführung in die Wirtschaftswissenschaften WS 5 DEU EiWiWi-Coaches: eiwiwi@mail.uni-paderborn.de
M.184.2176 - Finding and Developing your Research Project WS/SS 5 DEU/ ENG Lena Hortsch: finding@mail.uni-paderborn.de
M.184.2178 - Verhaltensökonomie in deinem Alltag SS 5 DEU Julia Kramer
M.184.2171 - Managerial Economics SS 10 DEU Wendelin Schnedler

 

Master

Modulname Semester ECTS Sprache Ansprechpartner*in
M.184.4176 - Finding and Developing your Research Project WS/SS 5 DEU/ ENG Lena Hortsch: finding@mail.uni-paderborn.de
M.184.5158 - Behavioral Economics for Managerial Decision Making: Theory and Application WS 5 ENG Dilan Okcuoglu Celik
M.184.5170 - The theory and practice of entrepreneurship ggf. WS 5 ENG Wendelin Schnedler
M.184.5157 - Marketing & Management Challenge WS 5 DEU Wendelin Schnedler & Julia Kramer
M.184.4173 - Economics of Strategy SS 10 ENG Dilan Okcuoglu Celik

 

Abschlussarbeiten bei uns

Wir nehmen am zentralen Vergabeverfahren für Abschlussarbeiten teil. Das Verfahren verteilt die Studierenden, die eine Abschlussarbeit schreiben möchten, gerecht auf die Professuren auf. Alle Informationen zum zentralen Vergabeverfahren.

 

Die Besonderheit bei uns ist, dass wir, im Gegensatz zu vielen anderen Professuren, keine festen Themen vorgeben. Bei uns haben die Studierenden die Möglichkeit ihre Abschlussarbeiten in vielen verschiedenen Bereichen zum Thema "menschliches Verhalten" zu verfassen.

 

Ablauf

 

Wir legen besonderen Wert auf praxisnahe Forschung und ermöglichen Studierenden dabei im Rahmen unseres verpflichtenden Moduls "Finding and Developing your Research Project" eine gezielte Unterstützung. Das Modul ist so konzipiert, dass es Studierende zu Beginn der Bearbeitungsphase ihrer Abschlussarbeit dabei unterstützt, ein eigenes Forschungsprojekt zu entwickeln. Das entstandene Projekt bildet dann den inhaltlichen Kern der Abschlussarbeit. Wir begleiten somit aktiv den Prozess der Entwicklung von Forschungsprojekten und stehen unseren Studierenden während der gesamten Planungs- und Umsetzungsphase zur Seite. Die Abschlussarbeit kann auf deutsch oder englisch verfasst werden.

Unser Kurs 'Finding' steht allen Studierenden offen, auch jenen, die ihre Abschlussarbeit nicht bei uns verfassen. Aufgrund begrenzter Kapazitäten erhalten jedoch Studierende, die ihre Abschlussarbeit bei uns schreiben, Vorrang bei der Kursplatzvergabe. Die Intensiv-Woche findet dieses Semester im Zeitraum vom 23. - 27.09.2024 statt. Bei Interesse kontaktieren Sie uns bitte unter finding@mail.uni-paderborn.de.

 

Unser Ziel ist es, Studierende bestmöglich auf die Herausforderungen der Forschung vorzubereiten und ihre Fähigkeiten in der eigenständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeit zu stärken. Entdecken Sie mit uns gemeinsam die vielfältigen Möglichkeiten zur Gestaltung Ihres eigenen Forschungsprojekts. Wir freuen uns darauf, Ihr Interesse an Forschung zu fördern.

Beispiele bisheriger Abschlussarbeiten

How effective is empathic communication?
An experimental analysis regarding the effect of empathic communication on the willingness to wear a mask

 

Während der COVID-19-Pandemie war das Tragen von Gesichtsmasken in öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln, in Supermärkten und auf öffentlichen Plätzen verpflichtend. Trotzdem trugen manche Menschen keine Maske und gefährdeten somit sich und andere. In ihrer Bachelorarbeit untersuchte Antonia die Wirksamkeit des Aufforderns von Personen zum Tragen von Gesichtsmasken in öffentlichen Räumen. Sie erforschte, ob das Äußern von Empathie und persönlicher Abneigung gegenüber Masken die Einhaltung beeinflusst. Antonia führte ihre Studie in Bussen und Bahnhöfen durch und sprach dafür wahllos Personen mit und ohne empathischen Ansatz an. Sie beobachtete und dokumentierte anschließend die Reaktionen der Teilnehmenden. Die Ergebnisse zeigten, dass empathische Kommunikation die Bereitschaft, eine Gesichtsmaske zu tragen, nicht steigern konnte.

 

 

The Impact of Ice Breaking Games on Trust and Reciprocity:
A Lab in the Field Experiment 

 

In Umgebungen mit häufigem Personalwechsel, wie beispielsweise Schulen oder dynamischen Arbeitsplätzen, ist das Aufbauen von gegenseitigem Vertrauen entscheidend für das Engagement und die Produktivität einer Gruppe. Hierbei stellt sich die zentrale Frage, wie dieses essentielle Vertrauen schneller entwickelt werden kann, insbesondere wenn Teams unter dem ständigen Wechsel von Mitgliedern leiden. Jennifer widmete sich dieser Thematik in ihrer Masterarbeit und untersuchte die Wirksamkeit von Ice Breaker Spielen als Instrument zur Beschleunigung der Vertrauens- und Reziprozitätsentwicklung. Die Studie wurde mit Studierenden im ersten Semester an der Universität Paderborn durchgeführt. Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass das Ice Breaking Spiel keinen wesentlichen Einfluss auf das Vertrauen und die gegenseitige Kooperation  der Kursteilnehmer*innen hatte. Allerdings haben sich deutlich mehr Personen aktiv am Kurs beteiligt, wenn das Spiel nicht durchgeführt wurde.

A field experiment on sustainable consumption in tourism 
Can nudging influence hotel guests to reuse their towel more often?

 

Wasserknappheit durch Tourismus ist ein großes Problem, insbesondere auf Inseln. Laura hat hierzu im Rahmen ihrer Masterarbeit ein Feldexperiment in einem Hotel auf Mauritius durchgeführt. Hierbei untersuchte sie die Wirksamkeit von Schildern in Hotelzimmern, die die Gäste zur Wiederverwendung von Handtüchern und zum Wassersparen anregen sollten. Die Schilder verdeutlichten die schädlichen Auswirkungen übermäßiger Wasserverschwendung und die resultierenden Wasserengpässe für Menschen in Afrika. Das Ergebnis: Bis zu zwei Handtücher pro Zimmer und Aufenthalt müssen weniger gewaschen werden, wenn Gäste darin erinnert werden, dass durch ihre Entscheidung Wasserknappheit vermieden werden kann.

Können Flyer dazu beitragen, dass Menschen ihren Wertstoffabfall reduzieren?

 

Einweg-Plastik stellt eine große Belastung für den Umwelt- und Klimaschutz dar. Marie und Laura untersuchten in einem Feldexperiment in ihrer Bachelorarbeit, wie sich der Müll in den Gelben Tonnen im Alltag der Menschen reduzieren lässt. Das Resultat: Die Haushalte mit den Flyern zur Mülltrennung reduzierten ihren Plastikmüll um durchschnittlich 350 Gramm. 1340 Gramm weniger wogen die Gelben Tonnen der Haushalte mit dem Hinweis auf den Müllverbrauch der NachbarInnen.

Do you look away now, even if you face the consequences on others, later? 
An online (lab) experiment

 

Eine potenziell schädliche Entscheidung kann leicht mit fehlendem Wissen über die Folgen dieser Entscheidung entschuldigt werden. In seiner Bachelorarbeit untersuchte Laurenz, ob Individuen weniger ignorantes und mehr pro-soziales Verhalten zeigen, wenn sie im Voraus wissen, dass sie die Konsequenzen ihrer Entscheidungen im Nachhinein definitiv erfahren werden. Es zeigte sich, dass dies nicht der Fall ist.

Can Greenwashing mislead consumers in their purchasing decision?
An experimental study

 

Greenwashing bezeichnet die irreführende Praxis, ein konventionelles Produkt als umweltfreundlich zu vermarkten. Dies veranlasste Kathrin in ihrer Bachelorarbeit, die Wirksamkeit von Transparenz hinsichtlich der Inhaltsstoffe zur Aufdeckung solcher Praktiken zu untersuchen. Sie erforschte dazu die Entscheidungen der VerbraucherInnen zwischen einer als "bio" beworbenen "greenwashed" Handcreme und einer konventionellen, basierend auf dem Zugang zu Informationen über die Inhaltsstoffe. In einem Feldexperiment wurden 100 Teilnehmende in zwei Gruppen aufgeteilt - eine wurde der Greenwashing-Praxis ausgesetzt, während die andere transparente Listen der Inhaltsstoffe erhielt. Die Ergebnisse deutetenn darauf hin, dass die letztere Gruppe, die über die Inhaltsstoffe informiert wurde, das als "greenwashed" beworbene Produkt weniger häufig wählte.

Beispiele Abschlussarbeiten

24.05.2024

The Im­pact of Ice Brea­king Ga­mes on Trust and Re­ci­pro­ci­ty: A Lab in the Field Ex­pe­ri­ment 

Mehr erfahren
24.05.2024

How ef­fec­ti­ve is em­pa­thic com­mu­ni­ca­ti­on?

Mehr erfahren
Weitere Neuigkeiten

"Mit dieser Mail möchte ich mich bei Ihnen bedanken - für einen herausragenden Kurs und Ideen, die mir heute noch zugute kommen. Erst letztens musste ich wieder über einige Inhalte des Kurses nachdenken und freue mich, so viel mitgenommen zu haben."

S. K. , Teilnehmer am Modul "Managerial Economics"

 

Unsere Forschung

The bro­ken chain

Menschen sind gar nicht so schlecht darin mit ihren Frustrationen umzugehen, wie bisher gedacht. Mehr zu diesem Thema erfahrt ihr in dem wissenschaftlichen Artikel von Prof. Wendelin Schnedler.

Don't Pa­tro­ni­ze me! Re­jec­ting a good so­lu­ti­on just be­cau­se it co­mes from so­meo­ne el­se.

Der Slogan „Take back Control“ soll viele Briten dazu inspiriert haben, beim Referendum 2016 für den Austritt aus der EU zu stimmen, obwohl sie wahrscheinlich wirtschaftlich unter dem Austritt leiden werden. Zu diesem Thema haben Silvia Lübbeck und Prof. Wendelin Schnedler ein wissenschaftliches Paper verfasst.

Against All Odds: Ten­ta­ti­ve Steps To­ward Ef­fi­cient In­for­ma­ti­on Sha­ring in Groups

Wenn Gruppen vor schwierigen Problemen stehen, geht die Stimme der Experten möglicherweise im Lärm der Beiträge anderer unter. In diesem Setting untersuchen wir die Verhaltensänderung, bevor und nachdem Menschen mit ihren Nachbarn sprechen können. Mit diesem Thema haben sich Darius Schlangenotto, Wendelin Schneller und Vadovic Radovan befasst.

 

Seminar of Economics and Management (SEAM)

Unsere Professur nimmt am Seminar of Economics and Management teil, um einen Wissensaustausch zu fördern.

 

 

Unser Team

Prof. Dr. Wendelin Schnedler

Managerial Economics

Mehr zur Person

Dr. Dilan Okcuoglu Celik

Managerial Economics

Mehr zur Person

Julia Kramer

Managerial Economics

Mehr zur Person

Eva Klein

Managerial Economics

Mehr zur Person

Lena Hortsch

Managerial Economics

Mehr zur Person

Silena Heimann

Managerial Economics

Mehr zur Person

Simon Leon Müller

Managerial Economics

Mehr zur Person

Tobias Niederprüm

Managerial Economics

Mehr zur Person

Janine Thenhausen

Managerial Economics

Mehr zur Person

"Die Arbeit am Lehrstuhl hat meine Definition von Kollegschaft und Teamarbeit nachhaltig positiv geprägt. Man trifft stets auf ein offenes Ohr, Verständnis, Unterstützung und Respekt. Die zahlreichen sozialen Events, vom gemeinsamen Mittagessen bis zum Teamday, fördern das freundschaftliche Miteinander und damit den besonderen Zusammenhalt des Lehrstuhlteams. Ich blicke gerne auf diese Zeit zurück!"

- Pia Pöhlker, ehemalige wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft im administrativen Bereich

Kon­takt

Managerial Economics

Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften - Department 1: Management

Universität Paderborn
Warburger Str. 100
33098 Paderborn
E-Mail schreiben Wegbeschreibung

Alumni

Dr. Xinyu Li

Dr. Silvia Onuchukwu (geb. Lübbecke)

Dr. Nina Stephan

Dr. Fabian Bopp